BuildingConnected gives you the ability to suggest an edit to a company or user’s profile. This helps maintain our network of general contractors and subcontractors with the most recent and accurate contact information.
Everyone has the ability to suggest an edit for users within the network. Simply click on a company or user’s name anywhere in the application to bring up their profile, then click on the “Suggest an Edit” button.
- Company Profile
- User Profile
There are two parts to suggesting an edit
1. "You are suggesting an edit to a public profile"
On the left-hand side, you can suggest an edit directly on the fields available. Click on the "x" to remove information or click into each field accordingly to add options and click "Send".
For these fields, we will send an email to the company's office lead or the specific user, and an in-app message will appear for the contact within that company asking them to confirm the change.
Edits will update immediately in a pending state for you and your coworkers. This allows your team to utilize this updated information while the company reviews your suggested edits. The edits are visible in bid packages, bidder list templates, bidder search, and company/user profiles. If you hover over the suggestion, a note will appear that the company/individual has been sent your suggestion.
How will I know if something changes?
- Once the contact has confirmed the information you entered is correct, it updates publicly across BuildingConnected and if the suggester returns to the profile, they will see a banner across stating their suggestion has been confirmed. Click "Dismiss" to remove the banner at any time.
- If the user or company you have suggested an edit for denies your request, the information will revert back to its original content since they have deemed the change incorrect. The suggester will see a banner stating that the contact has declined your suggestion. Click "Dismiss" to remove the banner at any time.
2. "Flag inaccurate information"
On the right-hand side, check the applicable edits to be made and click "Send".
Filling out the “Flag inaccurate information” section does not send an email notification directly to the user. These suggestions often require merging or removing accounts, so they go directly to the BuildingConnected team. Our team will review each of these suggestions carefully and take any necessary actions to the best of our abilities. If we can verify that the suggestion is accurate, we will make the change to update the network.
Therefore, when suggesting an edit on a user or company here, it is important to include as much information as possible
- If the company is a duplicate, do you know what the other company profile is called?
- If the user’s email is incorrect, do you know the correct email address?
- If a company’s phone number is discontinued, do you know the new number?
- If a user no longer works at a company, do you know where they work now?
Information like this is extremely helpful so we can not only rid the system of inaccurate information but maintain it with updated information.
You will see the following banner on the company's profile. The banner will disappear once our team has reviewed the request. If the banner is no longer there and you do not notice a change, you can contact support to inquire about our decision and provide more information as to what needs to be updated within the network.
Is suggested information searchable?
Suggested information is not currently searchable. For example, if you change a user's email or phone number, it won't come up in search with the suggested edit until it is approved.
Will I receive a notification on companies I suggest an edit on?
The suggester will not receive an email notification whether an edit is accepted or denied by the company.